Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony an Unqualified Success

From AMT (Aircraft Maintenance Technology Newsletter): Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony an Unqualified Success

Wetaskiwin, Alberta, June 15, 2010 – Four Canadians have been inducted into Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame (CAHF) at its annual induction ceremony and dinner at the River Rock Casino and Hotel in Vancouver, B.C., Thursday, June 10.

The event was attended by more than 280 guests from across Canada’s aviation and aerospace community.

Official presenter, Department of National Defence chief of air staff, Lieutenant-General Andre Deschamps inducted Julie Payette, Vi Milstead Warren, Redford Henry “Red” Mulock, and Willy Laserich.

CAHF chairman John Holding said, “The event was an unqualified success; it was great to see so many members of Canada’s aviation community come together to celebrate the achievements of these four outstanding individuals.

The Hall inducted Canada’s former Chief Astronaut Julie Payette, a pilot, engineer, and musician who has logged more than 1,200 hours flying and 25 days in space; inspirational female flight instructor Vi Milstead Warren, who also worked in remote and dangerous conditions as Canada’s first female bush pilot. WW1 fighter pilot Redford Henry “Red” Mulock was also inducted, having been recognized for his combat flying with a Distinguished Service Order and as a Companion of the British Empire who rose to the rank of RCAF Reserve Air Commodore. Northern bush pilot Willy Laserich was also inducted; he flew over 3,000 medevac flights and 100 search and rescue missions in Canada’s arctic.

The Hall of Fame encourages nominations from individuals from across the country. CAHF membership and nomination forms can be downloaded from the CAHF website Entries are assessed by a Nominations Review Committee, independent of the Hall’s board of directors, on an annual basis.

The Hall’s now 200 inductees have been honored for their contributions to Canadian aviation and space endeavors. Their achievements have been recognized as playing an integral role in the growth of modern Canada.

Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame is located in the hangar at the Reynolds-Alberta Museum in Wetaskiwin, Alberta, south of Edmonton. Founded in 1973, Members have come from all across Canada and have led extraordinary lives as military and civilian pilots, doctors, scientists, inventors, aeronautical engineers and administrators.

The Hall strives to increase the public’s understanding and interest in aviation history by making its displays, archives, records and artifacts accessible to current and future generations. The heroism and courage embodied in the Members of the Hall serves to kindle the spirit of adventure in Canada’s youth.

No comments: